Lancefield’s women premiers

Lancefield created history on Sunday by becoming the first club to win Gisborne District Cricket Association’s women’s premiership.
Promoted as the Kookaburra Women’s League in its first season, the competition attracted four teams – Lancefield, Sunbury, Bacchus Marsh and Darley. The GDCA expects more clubs to field teams next season with the growth of under-age girls’ teams assisting as a catalyst for clubs to field under-age women’s sides.
Lancefield, the smallest club involved, is proud to go thorough the season undefeated, winning both a semi-final and grand final convincingly at Gisborne on Sunday.
GDCA president Rob McIntyre extended hearty congratulations to the premiers, and the other three competing teams, on their trailblazing efforts this season.
“The girls had a fabulous day,” declared Lancefield club secretary Pauline Goodes.
The Gardiner and Sankey ovals were used for the semi-finals in the 20 overs per side format.
Lancefield scored freely to compile 6/161 against Bacchus Marsh, which managed 7/109.
In the other semi-final, Sunbury 6/104 dismissed Darley for 74.
In the grand final on Gardiner Oval, Lancefield scored 6/135 with Sunbury being restricted to 2/96.
The Lancefield premiership lineup comprised Emily Consiglio (captain), Bethany Richardt, Brianna Woodburn, Carolyn Cusack, Ellanor Carboon, Rachael Williamson, Brooke and Nat Jeffrey, Sharon White, Molly Consiglio and Olivia Goodes.
Macedon is one club hopeful of being able to field a women’s team next season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

two + eighteen =

error: Content is protected !!