Riddell league’s East vs West battle firing up

A charity match to raise funds for BlazeAid and the CFA on Sunday February 16 featuring an East vs West battle between players from by the Riddell District Football Netball League clubs has had an “amazing response” according to the main organiser of the event, Riddell identity Scott Trezise (pictured).
“The response has been fantastic,” Scott said.
“I’m hoping for 500-600 people to turn up but – depending on the weather and if it’s a nice day – going by the response I think we could hope for 1000-1100 people.”
A combined team from Riddell District Football Netball League east will take on a combined team from the west of the league.
Scott said that a couple of years ago the league ran an east v match and it was a great success. There are feelings that if the Feb 16 event is similarly popular, it could become an annual fixture on the league’s calendar.
East teams will include Riddell, Wallan, Romsey, Lancefield and Woodend Hesket and will be coached by Anthony Power.
Anthony is a long-serving member of the RDFNL community and has coached and played at several clubs over a considerable period.
The West teams will be made up of players from Rupertswood, Diggers Rest, Melton Centrals, Rockbank and Macedon and will be led by Damian Houlihan who is an ex-AFL footballer who was drafted to Collingwood and North Melbourne.
There will be live music, auctions, raffles, jumping castle, face painting, a barbecue, bar and lots more on the day including a dog wash! The day will begin at 1pm.
All proceeds will be split between CFA and BlazeAid, an organisation that works with people after natural disasters, including the Gippsland fires.
The football teams are to be put together with the following players.
East team
Captain – Ben Sonogan
Dylan Tarczon
Ben Sonogan
Ethan Foreman
Riley Paterson
Michael Sahlberg
Luke Malone
Matt Bowden
Nathan Malone
Riley O’Meara
Alan Sinclair
Jack O’Sullivan
Nathan Rayment
Ayden Tessari
Aaron Paterson
Brandon Wilson
Ethan Gretch
Tyson Chapman
Harley Giddings
Michael Mannix
Ricky Schraven
Patrick Mahoney
Shaun Stewart
Jarryd Bonello
West team
Captain – Tom Gleeson
Riggers Rest
Jason Williams
Tom Gleeson
Patrick Jackson
Dave Morrice
Josh Wallace
Campbell Walshe
Mike Gregson
Will Gregson
Jake Mallia
Seb Miletic
Jarrod Bulluss
Zach Smedley
Jack Kernan
Jack Mills
Brent Swallow
Cam McRorie
Bryce Caldone
Jayden Baillie
Mitch Boyd
Melton Centrals
Daniel Foley
Dylan Weir
Jarrod Spry
Jacob Sinclair
Linton Hogan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

17 + one =

error: Content is protected !!